12 Comments

Disability is a feminist issue

badd02

The 2008 roundup is at Diary of a Goldfish

About tigtog

writer, singer, webwrangler, blogger, comedy tragic | about.me/vivsmythe

12 comments on “Disability is a feminist issue

  1. It’s interesting to me that all the characters in that graphic are men (with the possible exception of the character in the wheelchair). Do you think that’s notable, or innocuous?

  2. Good question. I know why it didn’t strike me at all: I can’t stand the petticoat-ism of the symbol for women being beskirted, so I just looked at that and saw people. I much prefer to have signs with the old Greek symbols or just use the words Men and Women.

  3. Whats petticoatism?

  4. It’s my own particular word for the insistence on representing women as wearing skirts. Personally? I wear a skirt probably only two days a week at most.

  5. *nods*

    dresses and skirts are now rare outside a select group of formal occasions – but try telling the “woman symbol” people that…

  6. Hi!
    I’m not understanding why disability would be a feminist issue – a good issue to be concerned about, certainly, and I can see that being concerned about gender equality could lead to being concerned about other types of equality too, but since disability affects people regardless of gender, I’m not clear on how this is a “feminist issue”, exactly?
    Would you consider all equality issues to be feminist issues?

    Apologies if this question is covered elsewhere, maybe I’m just navigating badly.

    Thanks!
    Hugh.

  7. Hugh, that’s a good question, and I didn’t know how to answer coherently, so I googled it and came up with http://thegimpparade.blogspot.com/2006/11/is-disabled-accessibility-feminist.html
    which I think does an excellent job off explaining why disability is a feminist issue.

  8. Interesting that someone else sees all male figures. I suppose I saw them as gender neutral, but what I particularly like about the graphic is the person with the cane, Wheelchair Person isn’t the only one with a physical difference. Now I think of it, it’d be nice to see little variations in body shapes as well.

  9. tigtog,

    what about people who can’t read/have learning disabilities? Greek symbols or even English labels would be of little help to them, unless completely universal and bedded in over years as the currents pics have been. Rather ironic in a disability thread, but perhaps a useful reminder that the wheelchair symbol itself, which reads “physical impairment” as “disability in general” excludes as much as it includes.

    And Anastasiya, I have to disagree. They may be rare in your circle, but dresses and skirts are extremely common in my workplace and the streets of my town on a daily basis. Depends where you are and who you know.

  10. tigtog,

    As a disabled feminist myself, I wanted to write something about this on my own blog. May I please use some of the links provided by you?

    Thanks!

    Margaret.

  11. Thank you for asking Margaret, but I don’t own the links to material that other people wrote that are included in the Carnival, so permission is not mine to give. You don’t really need anyone’s permission to link to something publicly available on the web.

    I appreciate the gesture nonetheless.

  12. Ah….Thank you for replying!

    Margaret

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,806 other followers